Majorca 2013 – part 5

Tuesday 25th June

The drive to Cap de Formentor was not my favourite drive on the island. The last couple of hundred yards especially were somewhat nerve-wracking as you are looking down several hundred feet into the Med one side, as you try and avoid cars coming towards you on the other. As my phobia about heights is most definitely kicking in I was immensely grateful to reach the car park. Around the church there were a few spot flycatchers but sadly no Eleanora’ s falcons. A brief sea watch, hampered somewhat by the height did get me several shearwaters but not enough to allow id of the birds. The bird in this photo looks like a diver but is the local subspecies of shag.

Shag from Cap de Formentor

Shag from Cap de Formentor


The afternoon was spent in Puerto Pollenca enjoying a decent meal at the water’s edge. On the walk back to the car we found a piece of sand sculpture, there was skill in the way the sand held together but I defy you to recognise Homer and Bart Simpson in it.
simpsons sand art

The Sand Sculpture

Wednesday 26th June

My first visit in over 15 years to the Bocquer Valley. The area at the bottom of the valley was greatly changed as the Pollenca bypass road now runs between the valley and the town. The steep path up to the finca is still there, as are the gates but gone are the keep out signs that were there in 1998.

The Finca

The Finca


Difficult to work out if anyone is still living in the finca but the land is still being worked and there is still a dog tied up by the side of the dwelling so someone is using the place. The first crag martin’s were seen as I rounded the building, along with numerous spuggies nesting in the roof.
The start of the Bocquer

The start of the Bocquer Valley


The walk up the valley to the sea was uneventful and apart from the martins and the occasional stonechat, largely bird-free. I did manage to find the slimiest bit of mud on the island and almost dumped the scope and camera in it as I found my feet sliding from under me. Thankfully the wildlife improved after this mishap. I found a few small lizards basking in the sun but they were way too quick to get a picture of, blackbirds and Sardinian warblers started to appear and I had a very distant raptor which I couldn’t id as it flew across the sun and I didn’t really want to blind myself. Settling down on a small rise above the beach I had a rest and scanned the waters with the scope, initially with little success, eventually I got focussed on the end of the cliffs in order to catch any birds flying across the end of the valley .
Top end of the Bocquer

The view of the sea at top of the valley

After a few dozen yellow-legged gulls had drifted west, a bird skimming the water showed up. The first shearwater I could id positively, a Balearic, having got my eye in I realised that there were several birds moving west. Most of them were Balearics but there were a few larger, slightly paler birds with them, which I initially put down as paler than usual Cory’s shearwater but was later told that they would have been the subspecies known as Scopoli’s shearwater. One to watch as I believe the split is going to be made so an armchair tick is possible.
After seeing the last of the shearwaters disappear to the west I made my way back down to the car without encountering any new species sadly. A quick bite to eat in Puerto Pollenca and then off to explore the s’albuferetta area. I got hopelessly lost and whilst I did see loads of woodchat shrikes, fan-tailed warblers and little egrets, I didn’t find the areas I had hoped for. This was largely due to the map I had not being up to Ordnance Survey standards when you were away from the main highways. I found out later that there were at least 2 roads I drove along that did not exist on the map, we are talking proper metallized roads not tracks, crazy. I realised I was lost when I reached a t-junction which should have been a crossroads according to the guidebook. Later on worked out that the crossroads was in fact about 5 miles away from the T junction. After mooching around for a while, stopping at likely spots and scanning the fields, I realised the road I was on was going to intersect with the Alcudia-Palma highway, well away from where I thought I was, so having got my bearings I got onto the motorway and headed back to the hotel.

Thursday 27th June

Another drive to the east and Son Mill, no great birding as it was a family day. Did find a couple of lizards scuttling about the rocks above the harbours edge. I managed to get a decent snap of the fish in the harbour today, I’d been foxed on other occasions as the camera would focus on the water surface, today it actually focussed on the fish. A very photogenic Audouin’s gull stayed put whilst I got the picture I wanted.

lizard at son moll

One of the lizards


Audouins gull son moll

Audouin’s gull

fish in harbour son moll

Fish at Son Moll


However the drive back got me a new bird, seen whilst driving but well enough to rule out the confusion species. A nice black kite, my initial id was red kite but as the bird turned to glide away I got a good look at the upper tail area and realised the feathers were a pale greyish hue rather than the lovely red of the red kite. Get in!

Leave a Reply

