Majorca 2013 – The last bit honest!

Friday 28th June

Our last day, and to avoid stress I was to make myself scarce for most of the day, to allow Sheila to pack in peace. So I was once again visiting the s’albufera, not all day though as needed to be back before 3pm in order to drive to the airport.
I visited the Sa Roca hides first but sadly no stone curlew today, I did have stilts, common tern and a squacco heron though, along with both Kentish and little ringed plovers. A distant purple gallinulle was the last one I saw on the trip. After visiting all of the hides I made my way along the path to the depuradora area, a good day for raptors as I found Eleanora’s falcon, kestrel, osprey and marsh harrier whilst scanning from the viewing platforms along the way.

Looking west over the marsh

Looking west over the marsh

More bee eaters as well when I passed the ruined finca. I attempted to make the whole circuit of the reserve but had to give up less than halfway round due to my right knee giving me lots of grief, probably due to Wednesday’s tumble in the Bocquer. However I did connect with purple heron, little and cattle egrets, Sardinian, sedge and fan tailed warblers and a very obliging greenfinch in the stand of pines by the old finca.

Greenfinch by the old finca

Greenfinch by the old finca


I also managed to at last get something like a decent image of the swallowtail butterfly as well as a couple of dragonflies, not sure if they were male and female of the same species or two different species but I was quite pleased to get them both in one shot.
Swallowtail butterfly

Swallowtail butterfly


Dragonflies

Dragonflies


The walk back to the car park was necessarily slow but this did mean I got good views of yellow wagtail, purple heron and another squacco heron.
Cattle egret

Cattle egret

Purple heron

Purple heron

Totting up the trip list I had 58 species with 2 lifers this trip, not bad to say I only had couple of days of full on birding. I want to go back again with a better map so I can do the s’albuferetta properly, and also get right down to the south of the island to have a look round there, this is terra incognito to me.

One thought on “Majorca 2013 – The last bit honest!

Leave a Reply

